Wagging the dog pt. 2

“Let me see if I understand this,” wrote a friend in response to news reports that Israeli Prime Minister Olmert ordered President Bush from the podium where he was giving a speech to receive Israel’s instructions about how the United States had to vote on the UN resolution. “On September 11th, President Bush is interrupted while reading a story to school children and told the World Trade Center had been hit–and he went on reading. Now, Olmert calls about a UN resolution when Bush is giving a speech and Bush leaves the stage to take the call. There exists no greater example of a master-servant relationship.” 9’The Humiliation of America’ by Paul Craig Roberts, a member of the Reagan administration, writing on Information Clearinghouse)

Juan Cole has the entire translation of Olmert’s remarks, and some interesting observations on the UNSC vote:
‘I know that if somebody tried to find me on the phone right now, it would have to be something unusual and extraordinary for them to say: Leave it all and go to some room to talk to me. In this case, I said: I don’t care, I have to talk to him right now. He was taken off the podium and brought to a side room.
I spoke with him; I told him: You can’t vote for this proposal.
He said: Listen, I don’t know, I didn’t see, don’t know what it says.
I told him: I know, and you can’t vote for it!
He then instructed the secretary of state, and she did not vote for it. It was a proposal she had put together, one she formulated, one she organized, one she maneuvered. It left her rather embarrassed, abstaining in the vote on a proposal she herself had put together. That was why the French and the Brits said she had pulled a fast one on them, she having been the one to spur them to submit the proposals.’

One thought on “Wagging the dog pt. 2

  1. This doesn’t prove the Israeli Lobby directs our (USA) foreign policy. All this proves is that directions come directly from Tel Aviv so that nothing is lost through the transmission of middlemen.

Leave a Reply

